Antivirus Professional 2008 uses Scare tactics

By Paul | Nov 10, 2008

We came across a rogue today called Antivirus Professional 2008 that uses GeoIP Lookup as part of its scare tactics. This site uses Flash and script to create the effect of an online scan, that then attempts to push an installer at the visitor. The NoScript extension for Mozilla Firefox is an excellent way to mitigate against this kind of garbage.

[Via F-secure]

It seems that there is a site out there, that seems to be trying to scare you into downloading there software. If you have any questions about this site please feel free to check out what I’ve found out:

Registration Service Provided By: ESTDOMAINS INC
Contact: 1.3027224217
Website: http://www.estdomains.com
Domain Name: ANTIVIRUS-ONLINE-SCANNER.COM
Registrant:
N/A
Serento faloimitator@list.ru

Minskay str. 27-14
Kiev
Kiev 237293
UA
Tel. 044.2901732
Creation Date: 07-Jun-2008
Expiration Date: 07-Jun-2009
Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.antivirus-online-scanner.com
ns1.antivirus-online-scanner.com
Administrative Contact:
N/A
Serento faloimitator@list.ru

Minskay str. 27-14
Kiev
Kiev 237293
UA
Tel. 044.2901732
Technical Contact:
N/A
Serento faloimitator@list.ru

Minskay str. 27-14
Kiev
Kiev 237293
UA
Tel. 044.2901732
Billing Contact:
N/A
Serento faloimitator@list.ru

Minskay str. 27-14
Kiev
Kiev 237293
UA
Tel. 044.2901732


Now as you can see this site is located in Russia, and if that’s the case it is probably some virus itself to take control of your system to do what they want with it. So you best advice is if you think you have a virus then check out my recommendations these are all free to download and try. Unlike this site, they are legitimate and actually do what they promise.  If you want to email them you can but It don’t think it will help.

*UPDATE on that Website*

According to F-secure that site is now Suspended.  Great job guys.  We are now fighting these people even better than I’d thought.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • Slashdot
  • Blogosphere News
  • StumbleUpon
  • Suggest to Techmeme via Twitter
  • Identi.ca
  • Posterous
  • Twitter
  • email
If you enjoyed this post, make sure to subscribe to my RSS feed, bookmark the store and joining the forums

Comments are closed.

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Bad Behavior has blocked 943 access attempts in the last 7 days.

© 2009-2010 Tech-Linkblog.com All Rights Reserved -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright

Tech-Linkblog.com is Digg proof thanks to caching by WP Super Cache

© 2007 Tech-Linkblog.com and Hosted by Justhost and domain through Godaddy, - WordPress Themes by DBT -- Who links to my website?