Casino Spammers still user Yahoo for Spam : Could this be Malware?

By Paul | May 13, 2009

It just shows you just how one Geocities was taken down by Yahoo who owns it, the spammers have to come up with more ways to get you to download there software.

In my previous post about Casino programs,  They were using Geocities to host the page for the link to the download.

casinosmartdownload

It seems to be linking to “http://bestwinscasino.com/SmartDownload.exe“.  From previous post I talked about what that program did but I wanted to do another test with CWSandbox and see what has change. It looks like they must be having problems lately,  So If you want to do your own test and send me the link by all means.  I don’t know what is going on but, it probably is like the other post about wanting to do some bad things.  Virustotal has some anti-virus programs flagging this so I am unsure of the Harmlessness of this file but I wouldn’t install this software.  According to Avinti this program is a trojan dropper.  So Iwill let you decide on installing this software or not.

While the CWSndbox checks for malware, I went to Whois and looked up the domain.   Very interesting,  According to Whois this domain is located in China?  You don’t say, we’ve heard a lot of stuff coming from China from Graham Cluely Blog.  So it only makes me wonder what they are attempting to do now.  I do know never download a file you haven’t heard off

This is a good time to install some Free Anti-virus and Free Firewall software to better protect your system.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • Slashdot
  • Blogosphere News
  • StumbleUpon
  • Suggest to Techmeme via Twitter
  • Identi.ca
  • Posterous
  • Twitter
  • email
If you enjoyed this post, make sure to subscribe to my RSS feed, bookmark the store and joining the forums

Comments are closed.

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Bad Behavior has blocked 993 access attempts in the last 7 days.

© 2009-2010 Tech-Linkblog.com All Rights Reserved -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright

Tech-Linkblog.com is Digg proof thanks to caching by WP Super Cache

© 2007 Tech-Linkblog.com and Hosted by Justhost and domain through Godaddy, - WordPress Themes by DBT -- Who links to my website?